Page Navigation

Somerset Regional Council 2008-Present

Council History and Profile

Somerset Regional Council was formed on 15 March 2008 following an amalgamation of Esk Shire and Kilcoy Shire Councils.

SRC has a Mayor and six Councillors, each is elected by their constitutions, and serve a four-year term.

This regional local government is an hour west of Brisbane and is the fastest growing local government area in south east Queensland. It has strong agricultural, environmental, heritage and tourism values. It contains important vegetation and forest, areas of high scenic and landscape amenity and significantly, the key water catchments for southeast Queensland.

The Somerset region has an area of 5382 sq km and includes five major townships, Esk, Fernvale, Kilcoy, Lowood and Toogoolawah. The region is home to about 23,000 people and figures released in a report by the Australian Bureau of Statistics in April 2014 show the region had a growth of 3.2% during the 2012/13 year. Somerset's growth rate was well in excess of the Queensland total growth rate of 1.9%.

Somerset's neighbouring local governments are Lockyer Valley, Ipswich City, Brisbane City, Moreton Bay, Sunshine Coast, Gympie, South Burnett and Toowoomba.

Somerset Regional Council’s logo represents the region's two major dams, with the larger body of water representing Wivenhoe and the smaller body being Somerset. The overall shape of the icon with the water flowing from Somerset to Wivenhoe creates the shape of a clear "S", which uniquely identifies this water graphic to be that of Somerset Regional Council.

The previous Esk and Kilcoy Shire Councils had adopted floral and faunal emblems. The continued use of these emblems is symbolic, given that none of these emblems are reflected in the logo. On 19 December 2008 Council adopted the following emblems:


Weeping bottlebrush (Callistemon viminalis)
Native frangipani (Hymenosporum flavum)


Red deer (Cervus elaphus)

Deer were first introduced into Queensland in September 1873 when two stags and four hinds were released at Scrub Creek, Cressbrook Station. These deer were from Windsor Great Park and were a gift from Queen Victoria to the Acclimatisation Society of Queensland. Today, the descendants of the original release are well entrenched in the ranges of the Brisbane and Mary Valleys and it is estimated that several exist in the region.

Somerset Regional Council covers the largest land area of all south east Queensland Councils and currently has the smallest rate base. In spite of the challenges, the region continues to develop in an economically, environmentally and socially sustainable manner and will continue to attract new residents because of the community, lifestyle and amenity on offer.



Graeme LehmannGraeme Lehmann

2008 - Present Date

Graeme was born and raised in the Somerset region and has always called this his home. He lives with his wife Judy at Tarampa and together they have three daughters.

Graeme is passionate about representing the interests of the community and first became a Councillor in 1994. A decade after being in local government, Graeme was elected Mayor of the region. He has proudly served in local government for almost two decades.


Surname First Name Dates
Bechly Alan (Dozer) 2008 – March 2012
December 2012 - 2016
(Cr Bechly was re-appointed in December 2012 under the Local Government Act  2009 following the passing of Cr Neil Zabel)
Brieschke Helen 2012 - Present
Caddy Robin 2008 - 2012
Choat Sean 2016- Present
Gaedtke Cheryl 2016-Present
Hall Daniel (Dan) 2008 - Present
Kammholz Noel 2008 - 2012
Lehmann Graeme 2008 - Present
Madden James (Jim) 2012 - 12 February 2015
(James Madden was declared elected as the Member for Ipswich West on 12 February, 2015 and ceased to be a Councillor at that time).
Moriarty Kirsten 2012 - 2016
Ogg Michael (Otis) 2012 - Present
Pearce Bruce 2008 - 2012
Whalley Robert G (Bob) March 2015 - Present
(Appointed by Council to replace Cr Madden)
Zabel Neil Leslie 2008 - 2012(Cr Zabel passed away in December 2012 whilst serving as a Councillor.Cr Alan (Dozer) Bechly was subsequently appointed under the Local Government Act 2009 as he was the next in line in the Poll from the 2012 election).